My Trip To New York City.

From Wednesday morning to Thursday afternoon I spent my time shopping with my mum, literally, until we dropped. That is in our Renaissance’s hotel beds. Our hotel was right in Time Square underneath the Olive Garden. The Renaissance hotel is owned by the Marriott. It was nothing like any Marriott I’ve ever been too.

Immaculate, modern, sophisticated, mood-lit lighting are just some words that can describe this hotel. Twenty-six floors, I was on the eighteenth. And surprisingly, I was able to fall asleep at night, barely heard any noise from outside. But that might be because, one) I was exhausted from walking and shopping all day or tw0) we were so high up the noise was muffled. Either was, I slept like a baby, most of the time.

http://www.marriott.com/hotels/travel/nycrt-renaissance-new-york-times-square-hotel/

The day started out with my mum and I driving down to the city and looking for our hotel. Let me tell you, now that part of Time Square is for only pedestrians, (you can’t drive in it) it is harder to travel by car around the city, or at least in this general area. Once we parked the car in front of the hotel and checked in, a man parked our car. We the set out to have a taxi drive us to Soho.

On West Broadway in Soho, we were dropped off and walked into this adorably quaint little place called The Cupping Room Cafe`.

http://www.cuppingroomcafe.com/zgrid/proc/site/sitep.jsp

They serve all day, breakfast, brunch, lunch, and dinner. It was basically a bar, restaurant, and bakery in one. Delicious, delicious, delicious. I had a feta and tomato omelet with home fries and two glasses of chocolate milk. My mother had French Toast with berries and Vermont syrup, an over-easy egg, and crispy bacon. Of course, I stole some of her bacon, and of course it was amazingly mouth-watering. (For those of you on a diet, I repetitively apologize for you having to hear this delicious meal. But just wait until dinner.) The omelet was soooo freaking huge, it took up three-quarters of my plate, that I wasn’t hungry until dinner time.

After breakfast at the wonderful Cupping Room Cafe`, we walked around Soho in search of cutesie little shops. We went into this very expensive bag store. I saw a cute bag for $900.00. I was like, “No thank you.” and walked out.

Next we went into an art gallery. It was so adorable and gorgeous. They were painting and sculptures of The Peanuts, Dr. Seuss, The Nightmare Before Christmas, Where The Wild Things Are, Marvel Comics, Alice in Wonderland, and Coraline. Everything was over $1,000.00 so we just looked then left like the last store.

Next we went into this, again, very expensive clothing store. They said everything was handmade. I saw there was a downstairs and saw all the fabrics and sewing machines. Very original and unique. You just have to be Melania Trump to afford anything.

After that we walked into the store that was next to the last one called, Mango.

http://shop.mango.com/home.faces?state=she_400_US

They had very cute girly clothes, along with mens suits. The franchise itself was going out of business so everything was 80% off. Now, this, this was my kind of store. $40.00 skirt, $30.00 blouse, very affordable. My mum got some stuff from them too.

Next we went to Bebe, because they were close by. I felt so rich when I walked in, that was until we were at the register. There was this wonderful man named Eric (I remembered his name) who helped my shop. I felt like every wall, every feature, every rack I looked at I took at least one or two things I liked off of it. And Eric was there all the time to grab the stuff I wanted so I didn’t have to hold it while I shopped. He said he was “holding a room” for me. How sweet.

By the time I was finished looking throughout the whole store, I went into the dressing rooms and he was like, “Ohhh, Angel, you’re in trouble.” I think it was because he had like twenty-somthing plus things that he was holding for me. By the time I was finished trying everything on, and after many indecisive minutes of choosing, I only bought three things. A gorgeous dress, and a bright yellow sports bra with matching gray sweat pants. Boyy, did I look cute! :3

http://www.bebe.com/

After Bebe, we went into H&M. Now there are like twelve different H&M‘s, but the one I went into was sooo cool! The entrance has like flashing lights, the fitting room was painted black, with cool painted animated pictures on the ceiling. However, the store was over-crowded, which resulted in long lines for the fitting room and long lines for the register. Though, everyone who worked there was very nice. I ended up buying like six things.

http://www.hm.com/us/#/startns/

After that we were exhausted and pooped. So we took a taxi back to Time Square and out of Soho, to our hotel. Before that, though we stopped at Starbucks to regenerate ourselves. I had a very much needed tall iced carmel latte with whipped cream. My usual drink from Starbucks. The best ever!

http://www.starbucks.com/

We crashed on the bed and watched TV until 8:30 p.m. We had a dinner reservation then, but it wasn’t a long wait, we got back at the hotel around 7 o’clock. We had shopped from 12 o’clock until 7 o’clock. Now that’s crazy. I haven’t shopped that long since… since ever. I’ve never shopped that long. Wow, my legs are still achey from that. And this all happened on Wednesday!

We ate dinner at an authentic BBQ restaurant called Virgil’s.

http://www.virgilsbbq.com/

I had root beer and Pork ribs with their homemade BBQ sauce, mashed potatoes, mixed veggies, and corn bread. They smoked the ribs so much that you could taste the smoke, which unfortunately, I didn’t like. I felt like I was eating smoke. However, that’s how real BBQ is made, it’s a shame I don’t like real BBQ. The sauce was un-freaking-believeable, though! So good! My mum had a Corona with pulled Pork and roasted chicken, with mac & cheese, cole slaw, and corn bread. She liked the pulled Pork better than the chicken for the same reason of smoke.

We were, however, stuffed at the end of our meal, so we could not have dessert. It did sound good though. My mum was tempted to eat their Devil Dogs.

After that we walked to my favorite store, Forever 21 in Time Square. Let me just say, I was in heaven.

http://www.forever21.com/

I walked into a big square room with tall walls and a high ceiling. In the middle of all the clothes and registers, there are escalators. I went down to the second floor, all Forever 21 clothes. A big square, with little squares in each corner. Every place filled with clothes. Each floor had like four dressing rooms and ten registers.

Then I went to the third floor, all mens and kids clothes. (21 Men and Heritage 1981.) There was a photo booth on that floor and I decided to take a picture with my mum. The first one was of us smiling, the second was of us sticking our tongues out, the third was of me kissing my mum’s cheek, and the fourth was of my mum kissing mine. It was cute and silly. Lots of fun.

After that we went to the fourth floor, the last floor. After I shopped all four floors, I had like twenty-something plus (like Bebe) and tried them all on. I ended up buying around ten things. Unfortunately, I forgot to use my $20.00 and $25.00 gift cards there. But, hey, there’s always next time.

Once we were done with Forever 21, we walked back to the hotel which was not even fifty feet away. The. Best.

We decided to have dessert. All that shopping helped us digest our BBQ. In the hotel, there was a lounge. I had onion soup and chocolate milk instead of the usual pastry. My mum had lemon oil and olive hummus on white toast. Yummy.

We were right above Time Square. I took this picture with my cellphone, so a little blurry, but still cool.

And yes, I realize it’s side-ways. Do yourself a favor, and turn your heads slightly to the left. It’s not that bad. You can’t be that lazy.

After that, we went back up to our rooms and crashed for the night. I slept like a baby, that is until I woke up at four in the morning. There was this very drunk, very wasted, very loud man in our hallway singing and talking to a whispering girl. My mum ended up calling the front desk because they wouldn’t stop and we couldn’t sleep. After like a minute, we heard the elevator ding (our room was right outside from the elevator) and the drunk guy scream, “A cop. F**k!”

It was so funny! :D I’m laughing now thinking about it.

The next morning we ordered room service for breakfast. I had oatmeal with berries and chocolate milk. My mum had eggs, oatmeal, toast, and cups and cups of coffee. After that we checked out late, around one in the afternoon. The hotel held our bags and car for an hour while we did a quick ‘errand’ to Build-A-Bear Workshop on 5th Avenue and 46th Street.

http://www.buildabear.com/

I got a new bear to not replace my old one, just to have a new one. His name is Dylan Junior, DJ for short. Here is what he looks like:

And, yes, you must turn your head again. :P

Isn’t he just adorable! He’s so fluffy and soft and I can’t wait to sleep with him! :D

After that we went back to the hotel and got our luggage and car. Then we drove to my grandparent’s house, slept over for the night, and came home this afternoon. I am still exhausted from this very fun trip! I would do it again in a heartbeat. Thank you mum, and thank you dad for letting us use your points for the free hotel! (:

Best vacation in a long time!

4 Comments

Filed under Articles, Journal

4 responses to “My Trip To New York City.

  1. mum

    Thanks for a great time @NYC
    Can’t wait to go again.
    So much to see, not enough time.
    Definitely another trip in!
    Soho here we come:)
    Love youxoxoxoxoxox

  2. lovely post…

    love your blog, your poetry is impressive!
    Make a contribution to us today, the collection is to be closed within 24 hours.
    Thanks, we value your support. xxx

Leave a Reply

